Seven Wonders Of The World

There is a lot of confusion about the seven wonders of the world, especially on the internet. The truth is the list has changed through time. There are three lists which are seven wonders of the ancient world, the new seven wonders of the world, and the seven wonders of the modern era. Looking at the wonders of the world you may probably think that the new wonders of the world have replaced the old wonders of the world.

The new Seven Wonders of the World, which include;

 The Great Wall Of China
 Christ The Redeemer Statue (Rio De Janeiro)
 Macho Picchu (Peru)
 The Colosseum
 Taj Mahal
 Chichen Itza
 Petra

In the year 2000, a campaign started by new seven wonders of the world foundation to choose wonders of the world from 200 existing monuments. Over one hundred million people cast their votes. This particular movement was just to honor the other amazing monument from all over the world and also to create social interaction.

The seven wonders of the modern world include
 The CN tower of Toronto
 The empire state building of New York
 The Panama Canal
 The golden gate bridge of California
 Channel tunnel
 Itaipu Dam
 Delta works\ Zuiderdee works

Lastly, we have the original Seven Wonders of the World also called the seven wonders of the ancient world. However, the new list has been made over time, the term seven wonders of the world refers to the seven wonders of the ancient world.

The pyramid of Giza at Egypt; this pyramid built around 2560Bc for the pharaoh Kuku. It has survived for four thousand years. Before modern technology permitted the building of skyscrapers, this was the tallest building in the world.

The hanging gardens of Babylon; Babylon existed along Euphrates river in present-day Iraq. Somewhere in the ancient city of Babylon was a remarkable garden built by Nebuchadnezzar ii in 562bc as a gift to his wife. There is an opposing theory that this garden was never developed in Babylon but was instead made by a Syrian king. But there is no physical evidence of this structure. So it may have not even existed at all.

The statue of Zeus at Olympia, Greece; this giant statue was made of wood but covered in gold and precious metals for the god Zeus their highest ranking god. Soon after the Romans that took over the temple forbade the worship of the so-called “pagan gods”. The statue was abandoned, and the temple saw its ruin facilitated by earthquakes. It was speculated that the stature was torn into bits and sold. Since there is little to no evidence of the existence of the statue.

The temple of Artemis at Ephesus; is located in a place called Ephesus which now falls in the geography of modern-day turkey. It was built to worship the goddess of the hunt Artemis. This temple was destroyed and rebuilt many times. It was rediscovered and excavated in the mid eighteen hundred’s.

The Colossus of Rhodes; the city of Rhodes is a harbor city in the giant city of Colossus. They built the statue in honor of the Greek god Helios. They created the sculpture to celebrate their victory in defending their city against an attack. It is said that this statue was as tall as the statue of liberty. It only stood for about 50 to 60 years before a massive earthquake caused it to snap at the knees and fall to the city. For a long time, the people still traveled to see its ruins. Soon after all the bronze that was used to make it was melted and re-sold. Right now there is no evidence of its remain.

The lighthouse of Alexandria, Egypt; this lighthouse was created by Ptolemy the first and Ptolemy the second. This lighthouse has a giant furnace at the top. Though it was the first destroyed by multiple earthquakes and its remains are still under water yet to be studied.

The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus; stands from the ruler named Mausolus. He wanted to build a beautiful city. So he transformed the city of Halicarnassus. At that time, it looked like a temple rather than a tomb. Tombs like this are now called mausoleum. It was destroyed when catholic knights took hold of the city.